塔斯马尼亚是一个独特的岛国,位于澳大利亚的东南端。 塔斯马尼亚的面积大约相当于西弗吉尼亚州,或瑞士的 1.5 倍,拥有迷人的海岸线、古老的森林、崎岖的山脉和波光粼粼的高地湖泊。 该州超过三分之一的土地被保留为国家公园,其中越来越多的国家被宣布为联合国教科文组织世界遗产荒野。 这些地区为稀有和特有植物和动物提供避难所和栖息地,包括古代南部超大陆冈瓦纳的幸存者。 这些环境是美妙的户外活动的所在地,例如漂流、海上皮划艇、丛林徒步、骑自行车和世界级的飞钓(仅举几例)。

塔斯马尼亚紧邻南大洋、塔斯曼海和巴斯海峡,拥有世界上最干净的空气,拥有纯净的水和肥沃的土壤——由此产生的葡萄酒和美食享誉全球。

该岛的欧洲遗产可以追溯到 1800 年代初期,而塔斯马尼亚土著人则在 40,000 年前首次抵达。

现代塔斯马尼亚拥有丰富多彩的历史和壮丽的自然环境,还拥有充满活力的文化,拥有全球最好的小型交响​​乐团之一,也是在这个特殊地方寻找灵感的艺术家、作家和手工艺人的家园。

从澳大利亚大陆乘飞机或乘渡轮只需一小段路程,这个自然天堂将永远留在您的记忆中。

塔斯马尼亚人口

塔斯马尼亚的人口约为 541,000。 主要中心是霍巴特(首府城市,人口约 200,000)、朗塞斯顿(约 100,000)、德文波特(约 30,000)和伯尼(约 20,000)。

塔斯马尼亚的天气

塔斯马尼亚州霍巴特的降雨量是澳大利亚所有首府城市中降雨量第二低的(626 毫米或 24 英寸)。 夏季平均温度介于舒适的 21°C 至 26°C 之间。 冬季的平均气温为 12°C (52° F)。

有关当前塔斯马尼亚州的天气信息,请单击此处 塔斯马尼亚当前天气.

 

查阅

塔斯马尼亚的野生动物

有袋类动物

塔斯马尼亚恶魔 (Sarcophilus harrisii)

快来见见标志性的塔斯马尼亚恶魔 Sarcophilus(意为嗜肉)harisii,它是世界上最大的食肉有袋动物。 了解他们与第一批欧洲人的历史互动,他们是如何得名“魔鬼”的,以及现在如何将这种濒临灭绝的物种从致命疾病中拯救出来的集中努力。 魔鬼生活在荒地和硬叶林中,白天躲避,夜间觅食,以小袋鼠、其他哺乳动物和鸟类的尸体为食。 它们在三月繁殖,四月,幼崽像一粒米粒一样出生。 这是适者生存,因为它们会爬到雌性后向袋中的四个乳头中的一个上。 它们的寿命相对较短,在 6 到 8 年之间,并且 90% 的野生种群被这种疾病消灭了,拯救塔斯马尼亚恶魔计划现在可以通过圈养繁殖计划和重新安置健康恶魔的努力专注于野外物种的恢复。 

东袋鼬 (Dasyurus viverrinus)

塔斯马尼亚与塔斯马尼亚恶魔关系最密切,拥有两种袋鼬(斑尾袋鼬和东方袋鼬),东方袋鼬在澳大利亚大陆已灭绝,而斑尾袋鼬濒临灭绝。 像魔鬼一样,它们是肉食性的有袋动物。 然而,他们是一个敏捷的猎人,在树枝上奔跑跟踪鸟类,为鸡蛋和小鸡袭击巢穴,并潜入一两次奇怪的鸡政变! 他们的外套要么是黄褐色,要么是深黑色,带有华丽的白色斑点,在塔斯马尼亚丛林中提供伪装。

塔斯马尼亚 Pademelon (Thylogale billardierii)

Pademelon 比小袋鼠更小、更结实,在塔斯马尼亚很常见,包括许多郊区的后院。 一旦发生在澳大利亚大陆,它由于被野狗和狐狸的捕食而灭绝,但在塔斯马尼亚没有这些捕食者的情况下蓬勃发展。 在早期定居期间,他们的肉和皮是许多农村社区的支柱。 他们是菜园、幼苗和草的贪婪浏览者。 该物种主要是孤独的,虽然全年都在繁殖,但大多数出生在冬季开始。

塔斯马尼亚 Be​​ttong Bettongia gaimardi

“Bettong”是一个土著词,意思是小袋鼠。 这些仅在塔斯马尼亚东部发现的独特生物生活在草丛中或原木下,它们的草巢是由动物可卷曲的尾巴中携带的材料建造的。 它们是黄昏的(在黄昏和黎明活跃),以根、块茎和真菌为食。 真菌孢子随粪便排出,促进真菌的分布和定殖。 Bettongs具有精确的繁殖能力,使它们每年最多可以饲养三个后代。 与其他塔斯马尼亚哺乳动物一样,它们的存在和生存取决于塔斯马尼亚缺乏重要的捕食者(尤其是狐狸)。

鸟类

塔斯马尼亚本土母鸡 (Gallinula mortierii)

一种具有明亮红色眼睛的史前鸟类可以追溯到更新世时代(1.6 万 - 10,000 年前)。 曾经在澳大利亚大陆发现,由于缺乏捕食和丰富的水源,它们现在只存在于塔斯马尼亚。 当地人称他们为“turbo-chooks”,因为他们跑得快,时速可达 50 公里。 大部分时间都可以在路边、草原和牧场上看到它们,在那里,它们的戏剧性行为(手势、甩尾)和有趣的合唱听起来像横切锯的杂音,提供了很多娱乐!

橙腹鹦鹉 (Neophema chrysogaster)

这些明亮、色彩斑斓的鸟类栖息在塔斯马尼亚的一个特殊地区,即西南部一个名为 Melaleuca 的地方,这是这个极度濒危物种的最后一个已知繁殖地。 不到 70 只鸟留在野外,本赛季(2016 年)只有三对繁殖配对的回归已经动员了大规模的公众响应,为世界上运行时间最长的物种恢复计划之一提供财政援助。 这项恢复计划是由环保主义者、艺术家和民间传奇人物 Deny King 1981 发起的,他于 1940 年代后期在这片偏远的荒野中建造了自己的家。 橙腹鹦鹉(俗称 OBP)于 20 月中旬抵达美乐家,45 月中旬至 XNUMX 月期间栖息。 巢是在树洞和人造巢箱中制作的。 这些鸟虽然体型相对较小,长约 XNUMX 厘米,重仅 XNUMX 克,但由于被列为世界上最稀有和最濒危的物种之一而获得了大量追随者。

黑库拉翁白斑链球菌

Black Currawong 是一种圆滑的黑鹂,尾羽呈白色,通常与山区和温带雨林有关。 他们有一个大喙和明显的黄色眼睛,反映了他们的智慧和胜过许多人类的声誉! 他们是一个机会主义的饲养者,如果你不小心,它们会吃蜥蜴、老鼠、水果和你的午餐。 这些鸟经常会在你的野餐桌旁加入你,解开背包上的拉链来寻找食物。 Black Currawongs 在冬季迁徙到低地,通常成群结队。 他们的厚颜无耻和大胆赢得了我们的尊重,而他们的呼唤唤起了人们对崎岖、狂野和狂风肆虐的地方的回忆。

短尾海鸥 (Puffinus tenuirostris)

每年 15000 月至 18 月,短尾鹱也被称为“羊肉鸟”,它们从北极迁徙到澳大利亚东南部约 XNUMX 公里,约有 XNUMX 万只鸟抵达塔斯马尼亚进行繁殖。 这些鸟儿的终生伴侣,在洞穴中筑巢,小鸡在 XNUMX 月下旬左右孵化。 它们是优雅的海洋鸟类,在海上大量盘旋。 在夏季觅食的几个月里,还可以看到大型的海鸥“筏子”漂浮在海上。 塔斯马尼亚原住民在今天有着悠久的采摘羊肉鸟的历史和文化传统。 除了提供高能量食物来源的鸟类外,羊肉油脂还被用来涂抹它们的身体。 它为这些最南端的人提供了一层绝缘层,这些人在最后一个冰河时代被赭石覆盖。

 

单孔

鸭嘴兽 (Ornithorhynchus anatinus)

鸭嘴兽在 1800 年代后期臭名昭著,一个标本被送回英国。 动物标本剥制师立即怀疑这个生物是个恶作剧,认为有人将鸭子和海狸缝合在一起! 这种不寻常的动物(世界上仅有的五种单孔类动物之一,即产卵哺乳动物)被描绘成比生命还大,大多数游客惊讶地发现它的长度只有 45 至 60 厘米左右。 它生活在挖掘到溪流、河流和湖泊的土堤上的洞穴中,并在春季繁殖。 在野外观察需要耐心,多出现在黎明和黄昏时分,多次潜水觅食后返回水面呼吸。 这种动物的独特进化引起了人们对其易受环境变化影响的担忧。 1980 年代发现了一种真菌病,目前正在进行研究以监测对人群的潜在影响。

短喙针鼹 (Tachyglossus aculeatus)

塔斯马尼亚的针鼹比澳大利亚大陆的针鼹大,毛皮更多,可以隐藏一些刺。 脊椎是它们的防御机制,当受到威胁时,它们会钻入地下,保护自己的头部和腹部,只露出脊椎。 对于所有这些刺,繁殖是一个棘手的过程,因此男性拥有独特的装备——一个四头阴茎(但只使用两个头),再加上具有非凡耐力的非凡精液。 一种孤独的动物,但不是一夫一妻制,在繁殖季节(10 月至 XNUMX 月),可以看到有趣的“爱情列车”,其中多达 XNUMX 只雄性跟随一只雌性长达一周。 雌性将卵直接产入一个临时的育儿袋中,XNUMX 天后幼体孵化,在那里它们吸吮从腺体而不是乳头分泌的乳汁。 从 XNUMX 月开始,经常可以看到针鼹(尤其是年轻的)在路边、林地和牧场中漫步。

海洋哺乳动物

澳大利亚海狗 Arctocephalus pusillus

在 1800 年代中期,这些海豹是发展中的塔斯马尼亚殖民地的重要产业,因为它们的肉、油和毛皮被猎杀到濒临灭绝的边缘。 它们现在完全受到保护,虽然种群数量已经恢复,但它们仍然是世界上第四稀有的海豹物种。 它们在 220 月至 360 月期间在塔斯马尼亚北部的巴斯海峡岛屿上繁殖。 在塔斯马尼亚州南部,最常见的是看到雄性在海中游泳,被拖在岩石上或显得无精打采,侧身漂浮,一只脚蹼直立在水中。 虽然它们看起来好像在晒太阳,但这种鳍状肢使它们能够感受到风和水的运动。 雄性体重在 5000 至 XNUMX 公斤之间,在陆地上显得笨重,但在水中却很光滑。 它们密集的毛皮大衣既防水又绝缘,每年换羽时都会被新的生长所取代。 人们经常在看到海豹群之前很久就闻到它们的味道! 这是由于他们的饮食主要是鱼和鱿鱼。 由于它们只是上岸休息和繁殖,因此要知道它们的确切人口数量并不容易。 然而,据估计,每年大约有 XNUMX 只海豹幼崽在塔斯马尼亚水域出生。

普通海豚 Delphinus delphis

这些动物侧面独特的沙漏图案将它们与瓶鼻海豚区分开来,它们的喙也更长。 它们是群居动物,在塔斯马尼亚沿海水域嬉戏,通常以 12 只为一组,但有时,可以看到多达 30 个人在游轮旁边和船头嬉戏。 它们一年四季都可以看到,显得好奇又好玩。 然而,它们是塔斯马尼亚最常见的搁浅海豚,而且相对较小。 它们很容易与其他豆荚一起返回水中。

Tasmania is a unique island state located at the southeastern tip of Australia. Roughly the size of West Virginia, or 1.5 times Switzerland, Tasmania is a land of stunning coastlines, ancient forests, rugged mountains and sparkling highland lakes. Over a third of the state is reserved as National Parks, of which an ever-increasing amount is declared UNESCO World Heritage Wilderness. These areas provide refuge and habitat for rare and endemic plants and animals, including survivors of the ancient southern supercontinent, Gondwana. These environments are home to wonderful outdoor pursuits such as river rafting, sea kayaking, bushwalking, cycling and world-class fly fishing (to name a few).

Girt by the Southern Ocean, the Tasman Sea and the Bass Strait, Tasmania boasts the world’s cleanest air and rejoices in pure water and fertile soils – the resulting wine and food are acclaimed worldwide.

The island’s European heritage dates back to the early 1800s, while Tasmanian Aboriginals first arrived 40,000 years ago.

Rich with a colourful history and spectacular natural surroundings, modern Tasmania also has a vibrant culture, boasting one of the best small symphony orchestras globally and home to artists, authors and craftspeople who find inspiration in this special place.

Only a short hop by plane or a relaxing passage by the ferry from mainland Australia, this natural paradise will remain in your memory for life.

Tasmania’s Population

The population of Tasmania is approximately 541,000. The main centres are Hobart (the capital city with about 200,000 people), Launceston (approximately 100,000), Devonport (around 30,000) and Burnie (approximately 20,000).

Tasmania’s Weather

Hobart, Tasmania, has the nation’s second-lowest rainfall (626 mm or 24 inches) of all Australian capital cities. The average summer temperatures sit between comfortable 21°C to 26 °C. Winter’s average is 12°C (52° F).

For current Tasmania, weather information, click here Current Weather in Tasmania.

 

Read more

Tasmania’s Wildlife

Marsupials

Tasmanian Devil (Sarcophilus harrisii)

Come and meet the iconic Tasmanian Devil, Sarcophilus (meaning flesh-loving) harisii, the largest carnivorous marsupial in the world. Learn about their historical interaction with the first Europeans, how they got their name, the Devil, and the concentrated effort to now save this endangered species from a deadly disease. Devils live in heathland and sclerophyll forests where they shelter by day and feed by night, scavenging on carcasses of wallabies, other mammals and birds. They breed in March, and in April, the young are born resembling a tiny grain of rice. It’s survival of the fittest as they clamber to latch onto one of the four teats in the female’s backward-facing pouch. Their lifespan is relatively short, between 6-8 years, and with 90% of the wild population wiped out by the disease, it has been through the efforts of captive breeding programs and relocation of healthy devils that the Save the Tasmanian Devil Program can now focus on the recovery of the species in the wild. 

Eastern Quoll (Dasyurus viverrinus)

Most closely related to the Tasmanian Devil, Tasmania boasts two species of quoll (the Spotted Tail and Eastern), with the Eastern being extinct on mainland Australia and the Spotted Tail endangered. Like the Devil, they are carnivorous marsupials. However, they are an agile hunter scampering on tree limbs stalking birds, raiding nests for eggs and chicks, and sneaking into the odd chicken coup or two! Their coats are either fawn-grey or jet-black with magnificent white spots providing camouflage in the Tasmanian bush.

Tasmanian Pademelon (Thylogale billardierii)

Smaller and more stocky than the wallaby, the Pademelon is a common sight in Tasmania, including many suburban backyards. Once occurring in mainland Australia, it became extinct due to predation by dingoes and foxes but has flourished in the absence of these predators in Tasmania. During early settlement, their meat and skins were the mainstays of many rural communities. They are voracious browsers of vegetable gardens, seedlings, and grasses. The species is mainly solitary and while breeding occurs throughout the year, the majority of births occur at the beginning of winter.

Tasmanian Bettong Bettongia gaimardi

‘Bettong’ is an aboriginal word meaning small wallaby. These unique creatures found only in eastern Tasmania live in grass tussocks or under logs with their grass nests built from material carried in the animal’s prehensile tail. They are crepuscular (active at dusk and dawn) and feed on roots, tubers, and fungi. The fungal spores are excreted in its faeces, facilitating the fungi’s distribution and colonisation. Bettongs have precision-like breeding enabling them to rear up to three offspring yearly. Like other Tasmanian mammals, their existence and survival hinge on the lack of significant predators (especially foxes) in Tasmania.

Birds

Tasmanian Native Hen (Gallinula mortierii)

A pre-historic bird with brilliant red eyes dates from the Pleistocene era (1.6 million – 10,000 years ago). Once found in mainland Australia, they now only exist in Tasmania due to a lack of predation and an abundance of water. The locals call them ‘turbo-chooks’ as fast runners reaching speeds of up to 50 km per hour. They can be seen mostly year-round along road-sides, in grasslands and pasture, where they provide much entertainment with their dramatic behaviour (gesturing, tail-flicking) and amusing chorus sounding like a cacophony of cross-cut saws!

Orange-Bellied Parrot (Neophema chrysogaster)

These bright, colourful birds inhabit a special part of Tasmania, a place called Melaleuca in the southwest, the last known breeding site for this critically endangered species. Less than 70 birds remain in the wild, and the return of only three breeding pairs this season (2016) has mobilised a massive public response to financially assist with one of the longest-running species recovery programs in the world. This recovery program was instigated by conservationist, artist and folk legend Deny King 1981 who built his home in this remote wilderness in the late 1940s. Orange-bellied parrots (affectionately known as OBPs) arrive at Melaleuca in mid-October, inhabited between mid-November and March. Nests are made in tree hollows as well as artificial nesting boxes. These birds, while relatively small in size, measuring approximately 20 cm long and weighing only 45 grams, have gained a large following due to their listing as one of the world’s rarest and most endangered species.

Black Currawong Strepera fuliginosa

The Black Currawong is a sleek, blackbird with white-tipped tail feathers commonly associated with mountainous regions and temperate rainforests. They have a large beak and distinct yellow eyes reflecting their intelligence and reputation for outsmarting many humans! They are an opportunistic feeder and will eat lizards, mice, fruits, and your lunch if you are not careful. These birds will often join you at your picnic table and undo zips on backpacks to search for food. Black Currawongs migrate to the lowlands over winter, often in noisy flocks. Their cheekiness and audacity command our respect while their call evokes memories of rugged, wild and windswept places.

Short-tailed Shearwater (Puffinus tenuirostris)

Also known as the ‘muttonbird’, the short-tailed shearwaters migrate around 15000 km from the Arctic to south-eastern Australia between September to April each year, with approximately 18 million birds arriving in Tasmania to breed. The birds’ mate for life, nesting in burrows and the chicks hatch around late January. They are graceful oceanic birds wheeling in huge numbers at sea. Large ‘rafts’ of shearwaters can also be seen floating offshore during the summer feeding months. The Tasmanian Aborigines have a long history and cultural tradition of harvesting mutton birds today. Aside from the birds providing a high energy food source, the muttonbird grease was used to coat their bodies. It provided an insulating layer for these southernmost people that existed through the last ice age when covered with ochre.

 

Monotremes

Platypus (Ornithorhynchus anatinus)

The platypus gained notoriety when in the late 1800s, a specimen was sent back to England. The taxidermists immediately suspected this creature was a practical joke, believing someone had stitched together a duck and a beaver! Such an unusual animal (one of only five monotremes, i.e. egg-laying mammals in the world) has been painted as larger than life, and most visitors are surprised to find it measures only around 45 – 60 cm in length. It lives in burrows dug into the earth banks of streams, rivers and lakes and breeds in spring. Patience is required to observe one in the wild, and they mostly appear at dawn and dusk when returning to the surface to breathe after repeatedly diving for food. The unique evolution of this animal has raised concerns about its vulnerability to environmental change. A fungal disease was detected in the 1980s, and research is ongoing to monitor potential effects on the population.

Short-Beaked Echidna (Tachyglossus aculeatus)

Tasmanian echidnas are larger than those on mainland Australia and have more fur that can conceal some of their spines. The spines are their defence mechanism, and when threatened, they dig into the ground, protecting their head and belly, leaving only their spines exposed. With all those spines, reproduction is a tricky process, so males have a unique piece of equipment – a four-headed penis (but only use two heads) coupled with phenomenal semen with remarkable stamina. A solitary animal, yet not monogamous, during the breeding season (June – September), the amusing ‘love trains’ can be seen where up to 10 males follow a single female for up to a week. The female lays an egg directly into a temporary pouch, and the young hatch ten days later where they suckle on milk secreted from glands rather than nipples. From October onwards, it is common to see echidnas (especially young ones) strolling along the roadside and in woodlands and pastures.

Marine mammals

Australian Fur Seal Arctocephalus pusillus

In the mid-1800s, these seals were a vital industry to the developing Tasmanian colony when they were hunted to the brink of extinction for their meat, oil and fur. They are now wholly protected, and while populations have recovered, they remain the fourth-rarest seal species in the world. They breed on the Bass Strait islands off northern Tasmania between October and January. In southern Tasmania, it is most common to see the males swimming in the sea, hauled out on rocks or appearing lackadaisical, floating on their side with one flipper sitting upright out of the water. While it may seem as if they are sun-baking, this flipper enables them to feel wind and water movement. The males are hefty fellows weighing between 220 – 360 kg and appear cumbersome on land but sleek in the water. Their dense fur coat both waterproofs and insulates them, and this is replaced with new growth each year when they moult. One often smells a seal colony long before seeing them! This is due to their diet of mainly fish and squid. As they only come ashore to rest and breed, knowing their exact population numbers isn’t easy. However, it is estimated that around 5000 seal pups are born in Tasmanian waters each year.

Common Dolphin Delphinus delphis

The unique hourglass pattern on the side of these animals distinguishes them from the Bottle-nosed dolphin, and they also have a longer beak. They are social animals and frolic in Tasmanian coastal waters, usually in around groups of 12, but on occasions, up to 30 individuals have been sighted cavorting alongside and at the bow of a cruising vessel. They can be seen all year round and appear curious and playful. However, they are the most common dolphin to strand in Tasmania and are relatively small. They are pretty easy to return to the water together with the rest of their pod.